At first the front page of the wiki was changed like this:
http://sandbox.merjis.com/index/diff?version=326
Notice the added links. They've added them using single square brackets [...] which on other wikis turns them into links. Not, however, on this wiki.
Shortly afterwards the spam was removed:
http://sandbox.merjis.com/index/diff?version=327
This was all done in the space of a few minutes from an AOL dial-up address (172.190.194.104), and it appears from the profile in the logs to have been done manually using MSIE.
The spam is for some well-known spammy domains, which are already included in one of the Movable Type blacklists I checked.
Why should someone want to add and then remove a link? I have two theories for this:
Note that I get an email whenever someone changes any page on any of my Wiki sites, so I can revert changes pretty quickly too even if the spammer doesn't.
There are a few things to deduce from all this:
This sort of low-level wiki spam is actually quite simple to resolve. I've now changed the Wiki to add the following <meta> header to old versions of pages, the recent changes lists, and a few other places:
<meta name="robots" content="noindex,nofollow" />
This tells Google not to index the page, and not to follow any links in the page. Of course, I don't want this on every page - because I like my Google page rank and I like to share it with worthy sites. I only want it on the old versions, which may contain unreverted spammy links.
It seems to work.
This Google search doesn't return any links for the spam-containing page, which hopefully means that Google is neither indexing that page, nor following the link to the spammer. (This would assume that the spammer was smart enough to have given a link, instead of using the wrong syntax).
After a bit of investigation, I found the name and address of the antisocial twunt doing the spamming. Please consider not doing any business with this person.
Bob Harris 27 Old Tatham Holme On Spalding Moor YO43 4BN York GB
mailto:BH861839@aol.com, mailto:bob.harris@bslh.net
Phone: 01430 861 839
Same spammer hit this site too: